To make your printed Microsoft Project pages more useful and professional-looking, you can add information such as your company name or logo, page numbers, date and time, a file name, or project-specific information to the header or footer of a printed view or report. You can also add information to a project's legend.
By default, the legend appears on every page of a printed Calendar view, Gantt Chart view, or Network Diagram view. However, you can choose not to print the legend at all or to print it on a separate page.
Headers and footers are view-specific and report-specific; legends are view-specific only. For example, if you add information to the header, footer, or legend of the Gantt Chart view, this information doesn't appear in the Network Diagram view.
Note
This article doesn't discuss how to create headers, footers, or legends for the visual reports feature in Microsoft Project. Because visual reports are created in Microsoft Excel and Visio, use these programs to change the header, footer, or legend.
What do you want to do?
Add a header, footer, or legend to a view
- In the File tab, select Print, then select Page Setup.
- On the Header, Footer, or Legend tab, select the Left, Center, or Right tab.
- In the text box, type or paste the text, add the document or project information, or insert or paste a graphic.
To add page numbers, select Insert Page Number
, Insert Total Page Count
, or both.
To add the current date or time, select Insert Current Date
, Insert Current Time
, or both.
To add the file name, select Insert File Name
.
To add a graphic, select Insert Picture
. - To format preset information, select the ampersand (&), or select the text that you want to format, select Format Text Font
, and then select the formatting options that you want. - To add project-specific information, select the information that you want in the General and Project fields boxes, and then select Add for each entry. Repeat this step to add more project information.
Tip
You can customize the fields and bars that appear in the legend by using the Bar Styles dialog box. For more information, see Customize printing of a legend or title.
Note
- You can create multiple-line headers, footers, and legends. At the end of the first line of text or information, press Enter. To add lines after a picture, select the picture, place the cursor after the picture, and then press Enter. Headers can have up to five lines of information. Footers and legends can have up to three lines.
- You can choose to have the legend appear on every page, on its own page, or not at all. In the File tab, select Print, select Page Setup, and then select the Legend tab. Under Legend on, click Every page, Legend page, or None. For more information, see Customize printing of a legend or title.
- The header and footer that you set will appear on every page. You can't specify that they appear differently on the first page versus subsequent pages, appear differently on odd or even pages, or appear differently on individual pages.
- You can adjust the width of the legend's text box from 0 to 5 inches.
- You can use the shortcut menu to move text, information, or a picture from one tab to another. Select the text, information, or picture that you want to move, right-click, and then select Cut or Copy on the shortcut menu. Place the cursor on the tab that you want, right-click, and then select Paste on the shortcut menu.
- You can resize a graphic after you add it to a header, footer, or legend by selecting the graphic and dragging its border. To move the graphic, select it and drag it to another location. You can't crop a graphic.
Add a header or footer to a report
- In the Report tab, select Reports.
- Select the report you want.
- In the Design tab, select the Margins dropdown menu and select on Custom Margins... at the bottom.
- Select the Header or Footer tab.
- Select the Left, Center, or Right tab.
- In the text box, type or paste the text, add document or project information, or insert or paste a graphic.
To add page numbers, select Insert Page Number
, Insert Total Page Count
, or both.
To add the current date or time, select Insert Current Date
, Insert Current Time
, or both.
To add the file name, select Insert File Name
.
To add a graphic, select Insert Picture
. - To format preset information, select the ampersand (&) or select the text that you want to format, select Format Text Font
, and then select the formatting options that you want. - To add project-specific information, select the information that you want in the General and Project fields boxes, and then select Add for each entry. Repeat this step to add more project information.
Tip
You can customize the fields and bars that appear in the legend by using the Bar Styles dialog box. With the Resource Graph or Gantt Chart view displayed, in the Format tab, select the Format dropdown menu in the Bar Styles section and select Bar Styles. In the Name column, type an asterisk (*) before the name of the field that you do not want to appear in the printed legend.
Note
- You can choose to have the legend appear on every page, on its own page, or not at all. On the File menu, select Page Setup, and then select the Legend tab. Under Legend on, select Every page, Legend page, or None.
- The header and footer that you set will appear on every page. You can't specify that they appear differently on the first page versus subsequent pages, appear differently on odd or even pages, or appear differently on individual pages.
- You can adjust the width of the legend's text box from 0 to 5 inches.
- You can use the shortcut menu to move text, information, or a picture from one tab to another. Select the text, information, or picture that you want to move, right-click, and then select Cut or Copy on the shortcut menu. Place the cursor on the tab that you want, right-click, and then select Paste on the shortcut menu.
- You can resize a graphic after it's added to a header, footer, or legend by selecting the graphic and dragging its border. To move the graphic, select it and drag it to another location. You can't crop a graphic.