Important
An updated version of the Microsoft Copilot app for web, desktop, and mobile devices is available as of August 18, 2026. If you haven't updated to or downloaded the new version of the Microsoft Copilot app, this article does not apply to you. Instead, see Microsoft Copilot privacy controls.
Note
- This article applies only when you sign in with a Microsoft account, such as a personal email address, when using the Microsoft Copilot app on web, desktop, or mobile. If you're using Copilot in Microsoft 365 apps, see Copilot in Microsoft 365 apps for home: your data and privacy.
- This article does not apply when you sign in to the Microsoft Copilot app or use Copilot in Microsoft 365 apps with a work, school, or organizational (Microsoft Entra) account. For more information, see Data protection when using Microsoft Copilot for work or school.
In Microsoft Copilot, we give you control over how your data is used, including for the following:
Personalization and memory
Microsoft Copilot can offer you tailored experiences by remembering key details and preferences from your conversations. Over time, it can recall useful information like your communication style, favorite topics, goals, and recurring tasks to make conversations straightforward and more relevant. Learn more about how personalization and memory works in Copilot.
At any time, you can view and manage your memories to keep Copilot from remembering information you don’t want it to by doing the following steps:
- Open Microsoft Copilot and sign in with your Microsoft account.
- Open Settings, and then select Personalization.
- In the Saved memories section, select Manage saved memories.
- Select Delete next to any memory to remove it from Copilot Memory. If you want to delete all of your memories, select the Delete all memories button.
You can also turn off the ability for Copilot to save memories by doing the following steps:
- Open Microsoft Copilot and sign in with your Microsoft account.
- Open Settings, and then select Personalization.
- Turn off Copilot Memory by moving the Saved memories toggle to the Off position.
Turning off Copilot Memory doesn’t automatically delete already saved memories. If you want to delete saved memories, go to Manage saved memories > Delete all memories.
Chat history
Microsoft Copilot keeps your prior conversations with Copilot so you can revisit them or continue them at any time. Learn more about how Copilot chat history works.
You can delete individual conversations from your chat history at any time by doing the following steps:
- Open Microsoft Copilot and sign in with your Microsoft account.
- In the Chats list on the left-side navigation, select the conversation you want to manage.
- Next to the chat, select ...More, and then select Delete in the drop-down menu to delete the conversation from your chat history.
If you’d like to delete your entire Copilot chat history, see Manage your Copilot activity history in the privacy dashboard.
Web search
Copilot can search the web to improve the quality of its responses by referencing the latest publicly available information. This helps Copilot provide more complete, current, and relevant answers. Learn more about how web search works in Copilot.
To turn off web search at any time, do the following steps:
- Open Microsoft Copilot and sign in with your Microsoft account.
- Open Settings, and then select Personalization.
- Under Advanced, move the Web search toggle to the Off position.