Restrict posting in a Viva Engage community

Restricted posting allows network admins to manage conversations that take place in key communities within their network. Once this setting is enabled, only community admins have the ability to start a thread in the community. Members can only reply and react to conversations.

To set up or remove restricted posting

Note

To enable this setting, a community admin must grant community admin status to a network admin. The network admin then takes the following steps.

  1. In the community, select More , and choose Settings .

Screenshot of community settings.

  1. Under Configuration > Posting permissions, use the toggle to select Open or Restricted.

    Note

    A restricted community remains restricted in the Viva Engage app in Teams, SharePoint web parts, and Outlook.

What community members see

On web and mobile, non-admins will simply not see the option to post in the community.

On the web, users will see Restricted to the right of the community name.

Screen shot of a restricted official community